Quicksilver Messenger Service - Shady Grove [LP]

Hot Tracks

$ 29.98 

Sorry, this product is temporarily out of stock.


Iconic Psych Group's 1969 Third Studio Album on Vinyl LP!

"The third long-player from San Francisco psychedelic icons Quicksilver Messenger Service (QMS) is a direct contrast from their previous discs. Shady Grove (1969) is comprised mostly of shorter and self-contained pieces as opposed to the long and extended jams that were so prevalent on their self-titled debut (1967) and Happy Trails (1969). Ironically, the one stretched-out instrumental is courtesy of their latest acquisition - Brit recording session guru Nicky Hopkins (keyboards). Another possible reason for the shift in style as well as personnel is the conspicuous absence of Gary Duncan (guitar) - who is rumored to have been a 'guest' of Bay Area law enforcement at the time. The band incorporate a number of different styles on the album. Kicking off the disc is an up-tempo rocking version of the traditional Appalachian folk song 'Shady Grove.' The QMS reading is highlighted by John Cipollina's trademark fluid fretwork and a familiar 'Bo Diddley' backbeat - reminiscent of both 'Who Do You Love' and 'Mona' from the live ensemble LP Happy Trails." -Lindsay Planer, AllMusic.com


  • Vinyl LP
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Import


Side One:

  1. Shady Grove
  2. Flute Song
  3. 3 or 4 Feet From Home
  4. Too Far
  5. Holy Moly

Side Two:

  1. Joseph's Coat
  2. Flashing Lonesome
  3. Words Can't Say
  4. Edward (The Mad Shirt Grinder)

2023 Endless Happiness