Diana Krall - From This Moment On [2LP] (180 Gram) 2016 Verve/Sealed

Hot Tracks

$ 36.98 


2006 Album Reissued On 180g Vinyl Double LP!

Grammy Award winner and multi-platinum selling musician Diana Krall returned to the standard songbook with a sensual, swinging set on From This Moment On. Krall is joined by the Clayton/Hamilton Jazz Orchestra on eight of the eleven tracks, and performs in a quartet setting for the rest: Anthony Wilson (guitar), John Clayton (bass), and Jeff Hamilton (drums). From this Moment On, Krall's 10th album, was produced by Krall and Tommy LiPuma, and recorded and mixed by Al Schmitt.

On From This Moment On, Krall storms the bandstand with the Johnny Mercer "Day In, Day Out" featuring a rollicking piano solo finish, the Frank Sinatra classic "Come Dance With Me" (composed by Sammy Cahn and Jimmy Van Heusen) and the smokin' title track (Cole Porter). Her sensual side is brilliantly displayed on a beautiful reading of "Little Girl Blue" with the quartet. The record proves her signature smoky voice and stellar arrangements are at their swingin' best.

From This Moment On marks the singer, songwriter and pianist's first studio record of standards since 2001's platinum The Look of Love.

"In songs, mood and delivery, From This Moment On reveals Krall's personal ardor for that golden era of song-making, when Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald and (especially) Nat "King" Cole were in their prime. There's an economy and confidence that speak to the maturity of Krall as a performer, and a recording artist." - Ashley Kahn

• Double LP
• 180g Vinyl

Diana Krall, piano, vocals
The Clayton/Hamilton Jazz Orchestra (1-3, 5, 8-10)
Anthony Wilson, guitar (4,6,7,11)
Jeff Hamilton, drums (4,6,7,11)
John Clayton, bass (4,6,7,11), conductor (1-3, 5, 8-10)

1. It Could Happen To You
2. Isn't This A Lovely Day?
3. How Insensitive
4. Exactly Like You
5. From This Moment On
6. I Was Doing Alright
7. Little Girl Blue
8. Day In Day Out
9. Willow Weep For Me
10. Come Dance With Me
11. It was A Beautiful Day in August / You Can Depend On Me

2016 Verve Records