Cyndi Lauper - She's So Unusual [LP] (Audiophile Vinyl, limited/numbered) MOBILE FIDELITY

Hot Tracks

$ 39.98 


Michael Fremer Rated 8/11 Music, 8/11 Sound in his September 2013 reviews on!

Numbered, Limited Edition! Pressed at RTI! Gatefold Jacket!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 184/500!

She Bop: 1984 Commercial Blockbuster Combines Mainstream Hooks, Self-Assertive Confidence, and Whimsical Attitude

A True Original: Lauper Bridges Rebellious New-Wave, Giddy Pop, and Girlish Vocals

Back on Vinyl for 1st Time in Decades: Mastered on Mobile Fidelity’s World-Renown Mastering System and Pressed at RTI

Includes Top 5 Anthems “Girls Just Want to Have Fun” and “Time After Time”

Forget, for a moment, about the gypsy clothes, raspberry-pink hair, costume jewelry, and hyperactive behavior. No female artist’s debut better epitomized MTV’s vivid heyday and the smart intersection of self-reliant female politics, savvy hooks, and vibrant imagery than Cyndi Lauper’s She’s So Unusual. Long before Lady Gaga, and before Madonna embraced any traits resembling punk, the New York native ushered in a new wave of commercial pop while flaunting an exuberant confidence that, overnight, influenced a generation to dye their hair and embrace life with newfound vibrancy. Girls, indeed, just wanted to have fun.

Mastered on Mobile Fidelity’s internationally acclaimed mastering system and pressed at RTI, this Silver Label LP rescues the music from long-standing harshness and disadvantageous brittleness. Back on vinyl for the first time in decades, the multi-platinum 1984 blockbuster sounds completely anew, possessing crisper beats, a fleshed-out midrange, no artificial ceilings, and a clear alleyway to Lauper’s girlish voice. Finally, the sonics possess the wide spectrum of colors that flavor the songs.

Helmed by the anthem “Girls Just Want to Have Fun,” She’s So Unusual transformed pop culture by way of Lauper’s charismatic personality, whimsical attitude, lively performances, unique timbre, witty humor, and unabated passion. Throughout, she’s a whirlwind of emotion and cyclone of spirit, tackling carefree party tracks with the same verve she sings arresting ballads. And while for most it would be a deterrent, Lauper sculpts her chirpy, bop-friendly voice to her advantage, underscoring each song’s combination of sentimentality and rebelliousness.

“With a voice that combined the cartoon soul of Little Eva and the wink-wink naughtiness of Betty Boop, Lauper may have backed away from the depth or urgency of the writers whose work she mainstreamed, but her transformation of their power into sheer pop was ultimately subversive — giggling all the way, she incited legions of mall rats into orange-hair rebellion and a measure of self-assertion,” wrote Paul Evans for The New Rolling Stone Album Guide, hinting at the record’s normally unseen depth.

Whether viewed as a subversive new-wave crossover statement or simply as a celebratory declaration of individualism (or, both), She’s So Unusual is a 1980s landmark and influential harbinger of the role women would play in both rock and pop.

About Silver Series: Coming from Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab, the MoFi Silver Label Vinyl Series features an eclectic mix of recordings. This series is mastered and cut on the famous Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab state-of-the-art Tim de Paravacini-designed mastering system. Vinyl is pressed at RTI on audiophile-grade standard vinyl and are numbered limited-editions. Future releases will continue to stretch stylistic boundaries, as the MoFi Silver Label continues to explore music from many different genres. Expand your musical horizons with the Silver Label!

"Mobile Fidelity has done a superb job here, revealing a lot of interesting detail, promoting three dimensionality and warmth without covering up the embedded processing. Lauper’s voice has never sounded more intact, with the processing seeming to ride well on top of her voice, instead of hopelessly polluting it. Clarity, dynamics, instrumental separation, every aspect of the production has been spruced up without making it sound like an unwanted historical revision." - Michael Fremer,, rated 8/11 Music, 8/11 Sound

• Limited Edition
• Numbered
• Gatefold Jacket
• MoFi Silver Label Vinyl Series
• Mastered and Cut on the famous MoFi Sound Lab state-of-the-art Tim de Paravacini-designed mastering system
• Pressed at RTI on Audiophile-Grade Standard Vinyl

Side 1:

1. Money Changes Everything
2. Girls Just Want to Have Fun
3. When You Were Mine
4. Time After Time
Side 2:
5. She Bop
6. All Through The Night
7. Witness
8. I'll Kiss You
9. He's So Unusual
10. Yeah Yeah

2012 Mobile Fidelity