Allman Brothers Band, The - Bear's Sonic Journals: Fillmore East, February 1970 [2LP] (Orange Sunshine Vinyl)

Hot Tracks

$ 39.98 


1970 Performances with Duane Allman on Double LP!

All Analog! Restored & Mastered from Original Tapes (AAA)!

Pressed on Limited Edition "Orange Sunshine" Color Vinyl!

Recorded over three nights in February 1970 when the Allman Brothers Band opened for the Grateful Dead for the first time, these shows were recorded by Owsley Stanley, the Dead's pioneering soundman, whose "Sonic Journal" recordings are sought after for their purity and uncanny ability to place the listener in the venue. This is essential listening for Allman Brothers Band fans, showcasing an early incarnation of the band with Duane Allman in full form and featuring the earliest known live concert recording of "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed," which had just been penned by Dickey Betts shortly before these shows. The tapes were recorded just one year before the band's landmark At Fillmore East album from the same venue.

Long out-of-print, this set was freshly restored and mastered from original tapes in Owsley Stanley's archives, and includes all new album art and liner notes, including a series of rare band photos from the Fillmore East in February 1970, original cover artwork ("Electric Mushroom"), and new notes from the Allman Brothers Band and the Owsley Stanley Foundation. This is the second release in the award-winning "Bear's Sonic Journals" series and the first joint presentation by the Allman Brothers Band and the Owsley Stanley Foundation.


  • Limited Edition
  • 140g "Orange Sunshine" Color Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • AAA All Analog Production
  • Restored & Mastered from Original Tapes
  • Gatefold Jacket with Original Cover Artwork
  • New Album Art & Liner Notes
  • Rare Band Photos from the Fillmore East in February 1970
  • Second Release in the "Bear's Sonic Journals" Series
  • Made in Canada


Side I:

  1. In Memory of Elizabeth Reed
  2. Hoochie Coochie Man
  3. Statesboro Blues

Side II:

  1. Trouble No More
  2. Outskirts of Town
  3. Whipping Post

Side III:

  1. Mountain Jam

Side IV:

  1. Mountain Jam (continued)

2023 Allman Brothers