Concrete Blonde - Mexican Moon [2LP] (first time on vinyl)

Hot Tracks

$ 24.98 


Double LP! First Time On Vinyl!

Mexican Moon is the fifth studio album from US rock band Concrete Blonde. The music on Mexican Moon takes the gothic rock of their previous albums and adds more of a hard rock edge to it. Johnette Napolitano provided the vocals, bass guitar, samples, and the album artwork, and she was accompanied by drummer Paul Thompson and guitarist James Mankey. "End of the Line" is a Roxy Music song, written by Bryan Ferry and originally released on the Siren album.

"The album is a striking marriage of Johnette Napolitano's dark, lyrical imagery and the band's alternative-tinged pop sensibilities making it, perhaps, their most fully realized effort. 'Jenny I Read' kicks things off with the tale of a chance encounter of a fallen, reclusive starlet. Guitarist James Mankey shows versatility playing acoustic and Spanish guitar on the dreamy title track and the wah-wah effects of the brooding 'Jesus Forgive Me (For the Things I'm About to Say).' 'Heal It Up' was the unsuccessful single but is a bracing number with a ferocious vocal performance by Napolitano." - Tom Demalon,

"There can be no denying the power and the glory of a full-throttled voice let loose, and Johnette Napolitano knows it. Over the course of four albums (this is the fifth), her band, Concrete Blonde, has made forceful, adult rock and roll that demands attention. Napalitano has a voice that pulls no punches; it is alternately passionate, tough, playful and aggressive, but always womanly. For close to a decade now, Concrete Blonde has languished around the cult-band hinterlands. In a perfect cosmos their dramatic, gothic, guitar-laden, guts-and-soul music would dominate the music charts. Perhaps Concrete Blonde's intensity is just a little bit too real for a generation that was weaned on facade, for there is nothing phony or cute on this disc. The proof of that can be heard in songs like the cascading 'Heal It Up' and a faithful cover of Roxy Music's 'End of the Line.' Even in its quieter moments, Mexican Moon seethes with emotion." - People Magazine, 1993

• Vinyl LP
• Double LP

Side A:

1. Jenny I Read
2. Mexican Moon
3. Heal It Up
4. Jonestown
Side B:
1. Rain
2. I Call It Love
3. Jesus Forgive Me (For The Things I'm About To Say)
4. When You Smile
Side C:
1. Close To Home
2. One Of My Kind
3. End Of The Line
Side D:
1. (Love Is A) Blind Ambition
2. Bajo La Lune Mexicana

2017 Capitol Records