Chicago - Chicago XI [LP] (180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl, gatefold, limited)

Hot Tracks

$ 34.98 


180g Audiophile Vinyl LP Mastered by Friday Music's Joe Reagoso & Lee Loughnane From Original Chicago Records Master Tapes!

Chicago XI was one of Chicago’s biggest selling recordings in a long line of multi-platinum smashes which began with Chicago Transit Authority. Featuring the original award winning line-up of Robert Lamm (lead vocals/keyboards), Peter Cetera (lead vocals/bass), Terry Kath (lead vocals/guitars), the legendary horns of James Pankow (trombone), Lee Loughnane (trumpet), Walter Parazaider (saxophone/woodwinds), plus Danny Seraphine (drums), Chicago XI is undoubtedly one of the biggest selling albums of 1978 and also one of the most revered offerings in their huge catalog, as it features the final guitar and vocal work of the late great Terry Kath.

Buoyed by the success of huge hit singles like Baby What A Big Surprise (featuring Carl Wilson of The Beach Boys), Chicago filled this recording session up with so many great songs, it could be its own greatest hits collection.

Further smashes like the powerful Take Me Back To Chicago (featuring Chaka Khan) and the stellar Stax & Atlantic '60s groove of Mississippi City Delta Blues all truly make this fine album even more of a treasure trove of classic rock enjoyment.

Lead guitarist and spirited vocalist founding member Terry Kath tragically died not long after the album was released, making this an ever more important chapter in the band’s magnificent 4 decades plus run. The incredible guitar-filled album again shows how vital his playing was and how it still resonates with fans all these years. The closing power ballad Little One shows the heartfelt emotions in his vocal artistry as found in previous hits like Colour My World from Chicago II.

It’s been several decades since the original vinyl version of Chicago XI has been available. Friday Music is very honored to continue the CHICAGO 180 GRAM AUDIOPHILE VINYL SERIES with their masterpiece Chicago XI. Mastered impeccably from the original Chicago Records master tapes by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios and Capitol Records in Hollywood, CA, along with Chicago’s Lee Loughnane, this album is truly a thrilling first time audiophile vinyl release.

For this special limited Anniversary edition, also included is the platinum + award winning album cover in the original gatefold style, complete with all the great music you will always remember from this historic release.

• Limited Edition
• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Mastered by Joe Reagoso & Lee Loughnane at Friday Music Studios and Capitol Records in Hollywood, CA
• Mastered from original Chicago Records master tapes
• Gatefold cover

Side A:

1. Mississippi Delta City Blues
2. Baby, What A Big Surprise
3. Till the End of Time
4. Policeman
5. Take Me Back To Chicago
Side B:
1. Vote For Me
2. Takin' It On Uptown
3. This Time
4. The Inner Struggles of A Man
5. Prelude (Little One)
6. Little One

2016 Friday Music