Captain Beefheart - Sun, Zoom, Spark: 1970 to 1972 [4LP] (180 Gram, limited)


$ 99.98 


Limited Edition Newly Remastered 180g Vinyl 4LP Collection!

This 180g 4LP Collection brings together newly re-mastered versions of Lick My Decals Off, Baby from 1970 and 1972's The Spotlight Kid and Clear Spot. This is the first time this music has been remastered. The fourth LP contains out-takes including early mixes, alternate and instrumental versions of previously unreleased material.

The fourth album by Captain Beefheart, Lick My Decals Off, Baby, originally released in 1970, is regarded by some critics and listeners as a superior album. Don Van Vliet described the title as an encouragement to "get rid of the labels", and to evaluate things according to their merits rather than according to superficial labels.

Captain Beefheart and The Magic Band released "The Spotlight Kid" and "Clear Spot" in 1972. The Spotlight Kid is described as relaxed and fun, maybe one step up up from a jam by

"On Spotlight Beefheart took over full production duties. Rather than returning to the artistic aggro of Trout Mask/Decals days, Spotlight takes things lower and looser, with a lot of typical Beefheart fun crawling around in weird, strange ways. Consider the ominous opening cut "I'm Gonna Booglarize You Baby" -it isn't just the title and Beefheart's breathy growl, but Rockette Morton's purring bass, Zoot Horn Rollo's snarling guitar, Ed Marimba's brisk fade on the cymbals again and again, and more. The overall atmosphere is definitely relaxed and fun, maybe one step up from a jam. Marimba's vibes and other percussion work -- including, of course, the marimba itself -- stand out quite a bit here as a result, perhaps, brought out from behind the drums and the more straightforward work on Clear Spot. Consider "When It Blows Its Stacks," with its unexpected breaks into more playful parts, or "Alice in Blunderland"'s admittedly more aimless approach, but vibing along well nonetheless... Spotlight does have one stone-cold Beefheart classic -- "Grow Fins," an understated number with fine harmonica and a brilliant lyric about getting so tired of his woman that the best option is to take to the sea and fall in love with a mermaid. Another song, though, does have an all-time great title -- "There Ain't No Santa Claus on the Evenin' Stage." Definite fun touch -- the cover photo of Beefheart looking great in a classic Nudie suit, outlined in yellow light to boot." -

• Limited Edition
• 180g Vinyl
• 4LP Set

LP 1 - Lick My Decals Off, Baby
(October 1970)
1. Lick My Decals Off first, baby
2. 2nd Doctor Dark
3. I Love You, You Big Dummy
4. Peon
5. Bellerín ‘Plain
6. Woe-Is-Uh-Me-Bop
7. Japan In A dishpan
8. I Wanna Find A Woman That’ll Hold My Big Toe Till I Have To Go
9. Petrified Forest
10. One Red Rose That I Mean
11. The Buggy Boogie Woogie
12. The Smithsonian Institute Blues (Or The Big Dig)
13. Space-Age Couple
14. The Clouds Are Full Of Wine (Not Whiskey Or Rye)
15. Flash Gordon’s Ape

LP 2 - The Spotlight Kid (January 1972)
1. I’m Gonna Booglarize You Baby
2. White Jam
3. Blabber ‘N Smoke
4. When It Blows Its Stacks
5. Alice In Blunderland
6. The Spotlight Kid
7. Click Clack
8. Grow Fins
9. There Is not No Santa Claus On The Evenin ‘Stage
10. Glider

LP 3 – Clear Spot (November 1972)
1. Low Yo Yo Stuff
2. Nowadays A Woman’s Gotta Hit A Man
3. Too Much Time
4. Circumstances
5. My Head Is My Only House Unless It Rains
6. Sun Zoom Spark
7. Clear Spot
8. Crazy Little Thing
9. Long Neck Bottles
10. Her Eyes Are A Blue Million Miles
11. Big Eyed Beans From Venus
12. 12th Golden Birdies

LP 4
1. Alice In Blunderland (Alternate Version)
2. Harry Irene
3. I Can not Do This Unless I Can Do This / Seam Crooked Sam
4. Pompadour Swamp / Suction Prints
5. The Witch Doctor Life (Instrumental Take)
6. Two Rips In A Haystack / Kiss Me My Love
7. Best Batch Yet (Track) [Version 1]
8. Your Love Brought Me To Life (Instrumental)
9. Dirty Blue Gene (Alternate Version 1)
10. Nowadays A Woman’s Gotta Hit A Man (Early Mix)
11. Kiss Where I Kain’t
12. Circumstances (Alternate Vesion 2)
13. Little Scratch
14. Dirty Blue Gene (Alternate Version 3)


2014 Rhino/Warner Bros.