Captain Beefheart - Safe As Milk [LP] (White Colored Vinyl)

Hot Tracks

$ 28.98 


Mono Edition Pressed On White Vinyl!

Captain Beefheart's 1967 debut album Safe As Milk introduced the world to a one-of-a-kind visionary whose unique output had no precedent in contemporary music. Beefheart, aka Don Van Vliet, filtered the raw influence of the blues and R&B through his own singular musical sensibility and left-field lyrical wordplay, and surrounded himself with some of the most talented and inventive young musicians around. The result was an album that, even in the heady year in which it was released, sounded like nothing else, and the stage for one of rock's most iconoclastic and idiosyncratic careers.

With backup from the first, and perhaps finest, incarnation of Beefheart's legendary Magic Band (including future solo star Ry Cooder on guitar and teenage drum prodigy John "Drumbo" French), and production from future studio superstar Richard Perry, Beefheart unveils his fully-formed sound and vision on such landmark tracks as "Zig Zag Wanderer", "Abba Zaba", "Dropout Boogie", "I'm Glad" and "Electricity" (covered two decades later by Sonic Youth).

This landmark album, now on Sundazed White Vinyl, now sounds the way it was meant to sound, thanks to the restoration of Perry's rare original — and, to most fans, superior — mono mix, which was later altered by Beefheart's label without the artist's involvement. This definitive edition features authoritative new liner notes by Rolling Stone editor and longtime Beefheart enthusiast David Fricke.

"In mono, Safe As Milk is a powerful, concentrated revelation," Fricke writes, further noting, "Safe As Milk promised comfort, exotic nourishment and rude health — and delivered. Created in a year rich in historic debuts and transformative statements about rock’s dynamic and expressive possibilities, Safe As Milk was so far in it was out."

"Historical vinyl's first home, Sundazed Music, drops Beefheart and His Magic Band's 1967 debut Safe As Milk in gloriously un-compressed mono, and it's a doozy." - BLURT

"4 Stars! This newly excavated mono mix accentuates the Magic Band’s rhythmic boom-boom further. There's no topping the big fat bass line which, as often in mono, treatens to eclipse that Beefheart growl. Meaty stuff." - MOJO

"Witness the Sundazed label's timely reissue of the rare mono mix, sporting typically insightful sleevenotes from Rolling Stone magus David Fricke. Captain Beefheart's 1967 debut album, Safe As Milk, remains a pop album of sorts. A visionary, aberrant and inimitable one perhaps, but eminently accessible." - RECORD COLLECTOR MAGAZINE

"Don Van Vliet's pre-Tom Waits frog howl is still way out there, and the Magic Band's fuzzed-up and freaked-out interpretation of the blues is still some pretty heady shit. Sundazed does its usual exceptional mastering - full of warmth and depth – on its new edition" - PSYCHOBABBLE

• White Vinyl LP
• Mono Edition
• New liner notes by David Fricke

1. Sure 'Nuff 'N Yes, I Do
2. Zig Zag Wanderer
3. Call On Me
4. Dropout Boogie
5. I'm Glad
6. Electricity
7. Yellow Brick Road
8. Abba Zaba
9. Plastic Factory
10. Where There's Woman
11. Grown So Ugly
12. Autumn's Child

2018 Sundazed Music