Byrds, The - The Preflyte Sessions (180 Gram Vinyl) [2 LP]


$ 34.98 


Before turning rock 'n' roll on its ear in the spring of '65, the Byrds spent countless hours creating and refining their unique sound at LA's World Pacific Studios. Hear history literally in the making as McGuinn, Crosby, Clark, Hillman and Clarke record newborn, spine-tingling versions of classics-to-be like ''Mr. Tambourine Man'' ''You Won't Have To Cry'' ''I Knew I'd Want You'' and ''Here Without You'' as well as lost gems such as ''The Reason Why'' ''Tomorrow Is A Long Ways Away'' and ''You Showed Me'' (later a smash for the Turtles).

This is the most comprehensive collection of the Byrds' pre-Columbia recordings ever assembled. The 2-CD (and double High-Definition Vinyl LP set) Preflyte Sessions set is filled with 40 World Pacific Studio recordings circa 1964 and '65; tracks include all cuts found on the original Together-label Preflyte album, plus unissued and alternate versions from both the acoustic and electric Byrds' sessions, early David Crosby demo recordings, and the rare pre-Byrds Jet Set recording of ''The Only Girl I Adore.''

The Preflyte Sessions features a historical essay by Rolling Stone Senior Editor David Fricke - based on new interviews with Roger McGuinn, Chris Hillman, original Byrds' manager Jim Dickson and others present at the sessions - and is handsomely adorned with an absolute wealth of previously unpublished photos by Jim Dickson and legendary rock photographer Barry Feinstein. The Byrds' Preflyte Sessions captures the newly-kindled fire and enthusiasm of one of the most legendary and influential groups of all time.

A1 Byrds, The - The Reason Why 2:35
A2 Byrds, The - You Won't Have To Cry 2:14
A3 Byrds, The - She Has A Way 2:26
A4 Byrds, The - You Showed Me 1:50
A5 Byrds, The - Here Without You 2:25
A6 Byrds, The - Don't Be Long 1:55
A7 Byrds, The - Boston 2:12
B1 Jet Set, The - Tomorrow Is A Long Ways Away 1:56
B2 Byrds, The - It's No Use 2:17
B3 Byrds, The - You Movin' 2:05
B4 Byrds, The - Please Let Me Love You 2:23
B5 Byrds, The - The Airport Song 2:00
B6 Byrds, The - Mr. Tambourine Man 2:22
B7 Byrds, The - I Knew I'd Want You 2:28
C1 Byrds, The - The Only Girl I Adore 2:23
C2 Byrds, The - Tomorrow Is A Long Ways Away 1:58
C3 Byrds, The - You Showed Me 2:01
C4 David Crosby - Willie Jean 2:05
C5 David Crosby - Come Back Baby 2:23
C6 David Crosby - Jack Of Diamonds 1:43
C7 David Crosby - Get Together 2:31
D1 Byrds, The - I Knew I'd Want You 2:15
D2 Byrds, The - She Has A Way 2:20
D3 Byrds, The - Here Without You 2:26
D4 Byrds, The - For Me Again 2:29
D5 Byrds, The - It's No Use 2:14
D6 Byrds, The - The Reason Why 2:28
D7 Byrds, The - Boston 2:04