Bruce Springsteen - Chapter And Verse [2LP] (180 Gram, 5 previously unreleased tracks, download)

Hot Tracks

$ 39.98 


Double LP Companion Album To Springsteen's Autobiography!

"Chapter and Verse" is the audio companion to Bruce Springsteen's extraordinary autobiography. The career-spanning compilation album is released just before Simon & Schuster publishes "Born to Run". Five of the album's 18 tracks have not been previously released.

Springsteen selected the songs on "Chapter and Verse" to reflect the themes and sections of "Born to Run". The compilation begins with two tracks from The Castiles, featuring a teenaged Springsteen on guitar and vocals, and ends with the title track from 2012's "Wrecking Ball". The collected songs trace Springsteen's musical history from its earliest days, telling a story that parallels the one in the book.

Recordings from Steel Mill and The Bruce Springsteen Band feature musicians who would go on to play in The E Street Band. Solo demos of "Henry Boy" and "Growin' Up" were cut in 1972 shortly before Springsteen began recording his debut album, "Greetings From Asbury Park, N.J.".

Baby I, from The Castiles, was recorded May 2, 1966, at Mr. Music, Bricktown, NJ. The song was written by Bruce Springsteen and George Theiss and has not been previously released.

You Can't Judge A Book By the Cover, also from The Castiles, was recorded September 16, 1967 at The Left Foot, Freehold, NJ. Written by Willie Dixon, the recording was previously unreleased.

Also previously unreleased are "He's Guilty (The Judge Song)", recorded Feb. 22, 1970 at Pacific Recording Studio, San Mateo, CA; "Ballad of Jesse James", recorded March 14, 1972 at Challenger Eastern Surfboards, Highland, NJ; and "Henry Boy", recorded June 1972 at Mediasound Studios, New York, NY.

• Double LP
• Companion album to autobiography
• Features 5 previously unreleased tracks

Side A:

1. Baby I (The Castiles) [1966]
2. You Can't Judge a Book By the Cover (The Castiles) [1967]
3. He's Guilty (The Judge Song) [Steel Mill] [1970]
4. The Ballad of Jesse James (Springsteen Band) [1972]
5. Henry Boy [1972]
6. Growin' Up [1972]
Side B:
1. 4th of July, Asbury Park (Sandy) [1973]
2. Born To Run [1975]
3. Badlands [1977]
4. The River [1980]

Side C:
1. My Father's House [1982]
2. Born in the U.S.A. [1984]
3. Brilliant Disguise [1987]
4. Living Proof [1992]
Side D:
1. The Ghost of Tom Joad [1995]
2. The Rising [2002]
3. Long Time Comin' [2005]
4. Wrecking Ball [2012]

2016 Columbia/Legacy