Brian Eno - Discreet Music [LP] (180 Gram, download)

Hot Tracks

$ 32.98 


Five Decades Of Film & Television Music On Double LP!

Stereophile: Performance 3.5/5 Stars / Sonics 4.5/5 Stars

This long-awaited album brings together 17 tracks from Eno's most recognizable film and television work spanning 5 decades.

Eno's music has been used in hundreds of films and he has composed more than 20 soundtracks for some of the best known directors in the world including David Lynch, Danny Boyle, Peter Jackson, Michelangelo Antonioni, Derek Jarman and Michael Mann. Compositions such as "Ship In A Bottle" in "The Lovely Bones", "Prophecy Theme" from "Dune", "Deep Blue Day" in "Trainspotting", "Late Evening In Jersey" in "Heat", "Beach Sequence" in Antonioni's last film "Beyond The Clouds" and "An Ending (Ascent)" from Al Reinert's ground-breaking "For All Mankind" have contributed significantly to memorably iconic scenes.

Eno has also scored extensively for television, including all 3 series of the gritty UK crime drama "Top Boy", for which he received a BAFTA, and Danny Boyle's "Mr. Wroe's Virgins", which earned him and his brother Roger a BAFTA nomination.

This release features over an hour of classic Eno compositions and includes several previously unreleased tracks.

There are some simply beautiful pieces of music here. Sonically, this music has a clear but warm feel, across a range of styles, whether that's 'Prophecy Time,' which is majestic, sounding cathedral in scope, or the exquisite delicacy of 'Ship in a Bottle.' The standout track, 'Final Sunset,' reminds me of the work he did with David Bowie on Low. With any album, there are likely to be tracks that don't click, and with a compilation spanning 40 years, all the more so. That's true here: 'Deep Blue Day' and 'You Don't Miss Your Water' sound like country and western music with synths. Musical mashups can be fun, but they aren't always. Listening to these tracks made my teeth ache. Despite the varying shades of tone and the years that separate the tracks, this is an album that hangs together. It's more than background music, whether to a movie or to one's own life. Film Music is something to lose yourself in.
-Phil Brett, Stereophile, February 2021


  • Double LP
  • Previously unreleased tracks
  • Gatefold jacket


LP 1

  1. Top Boy (Theme) from 'Top Boy' - Series 1, directed by Yann Demange, 2011
  2. Ship In A Bottle from 'The Lovely Bones', directed by Peter Jackson, 2009
  3. Blood Red from 'Francis Bacon's Arena', directed by Adam Low, 2005
  4. Under from 'Cool World', directed by Ralph Bakshi, 1992
  5. Decline And Fall from 'O Nome da Morte', directed by Henrique Goldman, 2017
  6. Prophecy Theme from 'Dune', directed by David Lynch, 1984
  7. Reasonable Question from 'We Are As Gods', directed by David Alvarado / Jason Sussberg, 2020
  8. Late Evening In Jersey from 'Heat', directed by Michael Mann, 1995
  9. Beach Sequence from 'Beyond The Clouds', directed by Michelangelo Antonioni, 1995

LP 2

  1. You Don't Miss Your Water from 'Married to the Mob', directed by Jonathan Demme, 1988
  2. Deep Blue Day from 'Trainspotting', directed by Danny Boyle, 1996
  3. The Sombre from 'Top Boy' - Series 2, directed by Jonathan van Tulleken, 2013
  4. Dover Beach from 'Jubilee', directed by Derek Jarman, 1978
  5. Design As Reduction from 'Rams', directed by Gary Hustwit, 2018
  6. Undersea Steps from 'Hammerhead', directed by George Chan, 2004
  7. Final Sunset from 'Sebastiane', directed by Derek Jarman, 1976
  8. An Ending (Ascent), from 'For All Mankind', directed by Al Reinert, 1989

    2021 Atralwerks