Bonnie Raitt - Slipstream [LP]


$ 20.98 


Bonnie Raitt's new album 'Slipstream' is daring, bluesy, and steeped with the inimitable slide guitar and soulful vocals that could only be hers. Out April 10, 2012, 'Slipstream' marks her first new album in seven years, and the debut for her newly-minted label, Redwing Records.

While most of 'Slipstream' is self-produced and features Raitt's longtime touring band, four of the album's songs were helmed by celebrated producer Joe Henry (Allen Toussaint, Solomon Burke) and showcase his usual crew of extraordinary musicians. Additional guests include Bill Frisell, Al Anderson (formerly of NRBQ), Ireland's Paul Brady, and Maia Sharp. The album's twelve tracks feature Raitt's renditions of songs by such luminaries as Bob Dylan, Joe Henry, and Loudon Wainwright III. An updated, reggae-fied version of Gerry Rafferty's ''Right Down the Line'' leads the charge as the album's first single.

''Hearing myself in this new setting, how deep and effortlessly it went down, really inspired me to start a new record,'' says Raitt. ''Working with Joe and his guys and then reuniting with mine really got my creative juices flowing again.''

After an emotional period, with such triumphs as her acclaimed 2005 release and tour for 'Souls Alike,' and 2009 national tour with fellow blues legend Taj Mahal alongside the tragedy of losing her parents, her brother, and her best friend, Raitt decided to step back. ''I took a hiatus from touring and recording to get back in touch with the other part of my life,'' Raitt says of her decision to recharge her spirit and regain her personal balance before returning to action with the experimental, exhilarating sessions with Joe Henry.

There's no doubt that Raitt is re-energized for 2012. Yahoo! Music proclaimed ''the hippest thing an artist can do these days is cover Bonnie Raitt,'' and since her last release, she has become a touchstone for young artists. Adele released a cover of ''I Can't Make You Love Me'' last year and Bon Iver's Justin Vernon called her ''one of our greatest'' artists during his medley of ''I Can't Make You Love Me'' and ''Nick of Time'' on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon. Rolling Stone affirmed Raitt's impact, highlighting the ''sheer verve and skill'' that made her one of only two women among the ''100 Greatest Guitarists'' in their latest issue.

The album's title is very significant for Raitt, who notes: ''I'm so inspired and so proud to continue these traditions, whether it's reggae or soul or blues. I'm in the slipstream of those who came before me, and I'm leaving one for those behind me.''

'Slipstream' Track Listing:
1. Used To Rule The World (Randall Bramblett)
2. Right Down The Line (Gerry Rafferty)
3. Million Miles (Bob Dylan)
4. You Can't Fail Me Now (Joseph Lee Henry/Loudon Wainwright III)
5. Down To You (George Marinelli/Bonnie Raitt/Randall Bramblett)
6. Take My Love With You (Gordon Kennedy/Wayne Kirkpatrick/Kelly Price)
7. Not Cause I Wanted To (Al Anderson/Bonnie Bishop)
8. Ain't Gonna Let You Go (Al Anderson/Bonnie Bramlett)
9. Marriage Made in Hollywood (Paul Brady/Michael O'Keefe)
10. Split Decision (Al Anderson/Gary Nicholson)
11. Standing in the Doorway (Bob Dylan)
12. God Only Knows (Joseph Lee Henry)

Raitt sets out on a national tour in 2012 - stay tuned for dates to be announced soon.

Bonnie Raitt is an institution in American music - a nine-time GRAMMY-winner and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee with tens of millions of albums sold worldwide, she has undeniably changed the landscape of soul, rock, and blues. She is also a passionate activist and supporter of causes ranging from the anti-nuclear movement to youth music programs.