Bonnie Raitt - Nick Of Time [LP] (25th Anniversary Edition) (180 Gram)


$ 29.98 


25th anniversary reissue of the No. 1-selling album, winner of three Grammy Awards

Plated and pressed on 180-gram audiophile vinyl by Quality Record Pressings!

Before the release of her 10th album Nick of Time 25 years ago, Bonnie Raitt was a bit of a puzzle, writes In The For two decades she had been a critic's darling starting with her 1971 debut (four stars), Give It Up in 1972 (four and a half stars), 1973?s Takin' My Time , and Streetlights the following year (again, four out of five stars). Musically, Bonnie Raitt did every thing and every American style well except write prolifically, but her superb ear for finding excellent songs meant that she didn't have to. Yet it is probably fair to say that, after almost twenty years of recording and constant touring, Raitt's best-known song was her 1977 cover of Del Shannon's 1961 hit ''Runaway.''

Raitt saw her stock tumble during the '80s, as addiction and declining record sales left her without a label or a creative rudder for a sizable portion of the decade. But just when it seemed like she was washed up, a career-rejuvenating hit arrived in the Nick of Time.

Nick of Time arrived on March 21, 1989, after a few relatively quiet years, during which Raitt found sobriety and contributed to a number of other projects. It sold five times more than all previous nine albums combined, thanks to such songs as John Hiatt's ''Thing Called Love,'' Jerry Williams' ''Real Man,'' and the deadly ''I Will Not Be Denied,'' the gorgeous shimmering ''Cry on My Shoulder,'' and two terrific Bonnie Hayes compositions,''Love Letter'' and the reggae-inflected ''Have a Heart.''

Nick of Time eventually became the No. 1-selling album in the U.S. a year after release, and no one was more surprised than Bonnie Raitt. When it also won three Grammy Awards, including the coveted Album of the Year Grammy, no one was more appreciative.

Nick of Time made Raitt the feel-good musical story of the year, and kicked off a period of renewed success that's still going - her most recent release, 2012?s Slipstream, picked up a Best Americana Album Grammy in 2013. To Raitt, Nick of Time was the key that opened the door.
track listing:
1. Nick Of Time
2. Thing Called Love
3. Love Letter
4. Cry On My Shoulder
5. Real Man
6. Nobody's Girl
7. Have A Heart
8. Too Soon To Tell
9. I Will Not Be Denied
10. I Ain't Gonna Lie You Break My Heart Again
11. The Road's My Middle Name