Big Brother & The Holding Company (Janis Joplin) - Sex, Dope And Cheap Thrills [2LP] (rare and unreleased tracks from Cheap Thrills sessions, gatefold)

Hot Tracks

$ 25.98 


50th Anniversary Edition On Double LP!
Features Previously Unreleased Material!

2018 marks the 50th anniversary of Big Brother & The Holding Company's iconic second studio album and major label debut Cheap Thrills, which featured and introduced the world to one of the most recognizable female vocalists in rock history, Janis Joplin. To commemorate this anniversary, Legacy releases Sex, Dope and Cheap Thrills—named after the originally intended title for the 1968 album which was rejected by the label for being too controversial for the time. Sex, Dope and Cheap Thrills features rare performances from the original album sessions, 13 of which are previously unreleased, including unheard versions of favorites such as "Summertime", "I Need a Man to Love" and the smash hit "Piece of My Heart". Sex, Dope and Cheap Thrills also features liner notes penned especially for this commemorative release by Jefferson Airplane front-woman Grace Slick and Big Brother & The Holding Company drummer David Getz. 

• Double LP
• Celebrating 50 years of Cheap Thrills!
• Controversial original title restored
• Alternate takes from the classic 1968 album sessions
• 13 previously unreleased recordings
• Gatefold jacket
• Limited time download code

LP 1
Side A:

1. Combination Of The Two (Demo) 
2. I Need A Man To Love (Take 3) 
3. Summertime (Take 2) * 
4. Piece Of My Heart (Take 6) 
Side B:
1. Harry (Take 10) 
2. Turtle Blues (Take 4) 
3. Oh, Sweet Mary 
4. Ball And Chain (Live)
LP 2
Side C:

1. Roadblock (Take 1) * 
2. Magic Of Love (Take 1) * 
3. Oh Sweet Mary 
4. Flower In The Sun (Take 3) 
Side D:
1. Catch Me Daddy (Take 1) 
2. Turtle Blues (Take 9) 
3. How Many Times Blues Jam 
4. Farewell Song (Take 5) 

*Previously released

2018 Legacy