Band, The - The Last Waltz [3LP] (120 Gram)

Hot Tracks

$ 39.98 



TAS Super LP List! Special Merit: Film and Broadway Score

High Quality Vinyl 3LP Reissue!
Mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Studios From Original Analog Tapes! Pressed at RTI!

Inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1994, The Band (Rick Danko, Levon Helm, Garth Hudson, Richard Manuel and Robbie Robertson) got their start in Canada as The Hawks backing blues-rocker Ronnie Hawkins. In 1965, they connected with Bob Dylan and became his first and most famous electric backing unit. In 1967, The Band embarked on a solo course that spanned 11 albums over the next decade. Five went gold and their second release, The Band, earned platinum. By 1976, though, as the world suffered disco fever and punk's onset, The Band was ready to call it a career after 16 years together. That Thanksgiving night, they staged a historic final performance dubbed The Last Waltz that celebrated their many musical milestones in a near-formal concert-hall setting at Winterland. Augmented by a 7-piece horn section and an orchestra, The Band played all their favorite songs and welcomed guest performers more than a dozen musical mentors and peers who had all contributed to or participated in their success along the way.

Rhino/Warner Bros. presents this 3LP set celebrating the never-to-be repeated moment in music history.

"While Rock of Ages found the Band swinging along with the help of a horn section arranged by Allen Toussaint, The Last Waltz boasts a horn section (using Toussaint's earlier arrangements on a few cuts) and more than a baker's dozen guest stars, ranging from old cohorts Ronnie Hawkins and Bob Dylan to contemporaries Joni Mitchell, Neil Young, and Van Morrison. The Band are in fine if not exceptional form here; on most cuts, they don't sound quite as fiery as they did on Rock of Ages, though their performances are never less than expert, and the high points are dazzling, especially an impassioned version of "It Makes No Difference" and blazing readings of "Up on Cripple Creek" and "The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down" (Levon Helm has made no secret that he felt breaking up the Band was a bad idea, and here it sounds if he was determined to prove how much they still had to offer). Ultimately, it's the Band's "special guests" who really make this set stand out -- Muddy Waters' ferocious version of "Mannish Boy" would have been a wonder from a man half his age, Van Morrison sounds positively joyous on "Caravan," Neil Young and Joni Mitchell do well for their Canadian brethren, and Bob Dylan's closing set finds him in admirably loose and rollicking form." -

• High Quality Vinyl
• 3LP Set
• Mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Studios
• Mastered from original analog tapes
• Pressed at RTI

Rick Danko, bass, fiddle, vocals
Levon Helm, drums, mandolin, vocals
Garth Hudson, organ, piano, accordion, synthesizers, soprano sax, clavinet
Richard Manuel, piano, organ, drums, clavinet, dobro, vocals
Robbie Robertson, guitar, piano, vocals

Paul Butterfield, harmonica, vocals
Eric Clapton, guitar, vocals
Neil Diamond, guitar, vocals
Bob Dylan, guitar, vocals
Emmylou Harris, acoustic guitar, vocals
Ronnie Hawkins, vocals
Dr. John, piano, guitar, congas, vocals
Joni Mitchell, acoustic guitar, vocals
Van Morrison, vocals
The Staples, guitar, vocals
Ringo Starr, drums
Muddy Waters, vocals
Ron Wood, guitar
Neil Young, guitars, harmonica, vocals

LP 1 - Side A:

1. Theme From the Last Waltz
2. Up On Cripple Creek
3. Who Do You Love? (feat. Ronnie Hawkins)
4. Helpless (feat. Neal Young)
5. Stagefright
LP 1 - Side B:
6. Coyote (feat. Joni Mitchell)
7. Dry Your Eyes (feat. Neil Diamond)
8. It Makes No Difference
9. Such A Night (feat. Dr. John)

LP 2 - Side C:
1. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
2. Mystery Train (feat. Paul Butterfield)
3. Mannish Boy (feat. Muddy Waters)
4. Further On Up the Road (feat. Eric Clapton)
LP 2 - Side D:
5. The Shape I'm In
6. Down South In New Orleans (feat. Bobby Charles)
7. Ophelia
8. Tura Lura Lural (That's An Irish Lullaby) (feat. Van Morrison)
9. Caravan (feat. Van Morrison)

LP 3 - Side E:
1. Life Is A Carnival
2. Baby Let Me Follow You Down (feat. Bob Dylan)
3. I Don't Believe You (She Acts Like We Have never Met) (feat. Bob Dylan)
4. Forever Young (feat. Bob Dylan)
5. Baby Let Me Follow You Down (reprise) (feat. Bob Dylan)
6. I Shall Be Released
LP 3 - Side F - The Last Waltz Suite
7. The Well
8. Evangeline (feat. Emmylou Harris)
9. Out Of the Blue
10. The Weight (feat. The Staples)
11. The Last Waltz Refrain
12. Theme From the Last Waltz (feat. Orchestra)

2013 Rhino/Warner Bros