Band, The - Music From The Big Pink [2LP] (50th Anniversary, 180 Gram, 2018 stereo mix)

Hot Tracks

$ 35.98 


Iconic Album On 180g 45rpm Double LP!
Lacquers Cut By Chris Bellman At Bernie Grundman Mastering!
New Stereo Mix By Bob Clearmountain From 4-Track Analog Master!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 34/500!

The 1968 debut album from The Band, Music From Big Pink celebrates its 50th Anniversary.

In celebration of the 50th Anniversary of The Band's landmark debut album, Music From Big Pink is released on 2LPs featuring a new stereo mix of the album, produced by Bob Clearmountain from the original four-track analog master. This new mix achieves a striking clarity and incorporates some previously unreleased chatter from the studio sessions. For the LP, Chris Bellman cut the vinyl lacquers for the album's new stereo mix at 45rpm at Bernie Grundman Mastering.

The Band's debut album Music From Big Pink (No. 30 US '68) emerged following a lengthy period of playing as Bob Dylan's backing band (they were responsible for the much bootlegged "The Basement Tapes"), following which Robbie Robertson, Richard Manuel, Rick Danko, Garth Hudson and Levon Helm decided to go it alone as the Band. For a debut album Music From Big Pink is an astonishingly accomplished piece of work. The first single released from the album - "The Weight" (No. 21 UK, No. 63 US '68) became a hit on both sides of the Atlantic and was backed with Bob Dylan's "I Shall Be Released" to effectively make it a great double-sider. Also on the album is a fantastic version of Dylan and Rick Danko's "This Wheel's On Fire". Also, for you collectors out there, please remember that the sleeve was originally painted by Bob Dylan, so here is once again an opportunity to get a lovely 12" square piece of legendary Bob Dylan artwork as well as a fantastic slab of vinyl on a guaranteed all-time rock classic!

"Big Pink" was a garishly pink house in Woodstock, New York, where the Band — Dylan's '65-66 backup band on tour — moved to be near Dylan after his motorcycle accident. While he recuperated, the Band backed him on the demos later known as The Basement Tapes and made its own debut. Dylan offered to play on the album; the Band said no thanks. "We didn't want to just ride his shirttail all the time," drummer Levon Helm said. Dylan contributed "I Shall Be Released" and co-wrote two other tunes. But it was the rustic beauty of the Band's music and the incisive drama of its own reflections on family and obligations, such as "The Weight," that made Big Pink an instant homespun classic." -

• 50th Anniversary Edition
• 180g Double LP
• 45rpm 
• Lacquers cut at Bernie Grundman Mastering by Chris Bellman
• New stereo mix by Bob Clearmountain from 4-track analog master
• Newly remixed and remastered
• First time on 2LP 180g, 45rpm
• Gatefold sleeve

Side One:

1. Tears Of Rage
2. To Kingdom Come
Side Two:
1. In A Station
2. Caledonia Mission
3. The Weight
Side Three:
1. We Can Talk
2. Long Black Veil
3. Chest Fever
Side Four:
1. Lonesome Suzie
2. This Wheel's On Fire
3. I Shall Be Released

2018 Capitol Records