Arctic Monkeys - Suck It And See [LP] (includes download)


$ 18.98 


Light and airy, filmic but intimate, carefully arranged but deceptively
powerful, Suck It and See is Arctic Monkeys' fourth album. Recorded at
Sound City Studios in Los Angeles with long-time producer/ collaborator
James Ford, it has a summery pop feel: with the bulk of work completed
on the West Coast during January, it's got the feel-good sound of stealing
some winter sun, some out of season Vitamin D. 'Everyone was in a really
good mood when we were there,' says Alex Turner; 'so I think the fact we
were having a laugh comes across.'
With Suck It and See the band perfectly mesh their hard and soft sides.
The album is lyrically their most verbose since their record-breaking debut
Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not. From shimmering
opener ''She's Thunderstorms'' to the brilliantly buoyant ''Black Treacle''
through to perfect closer ''That's Where You're Wrong'', Alex Turner brings
an articulate melodic swagger to the proceedings. Suck It and See is not just
the sound of a band working in perfect, energetic sync, it's one of the year's
best albums.

1. She's Thunderstorms
2. Black Treacle
3. Brick by Brick
4. The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala
5. Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair
6. Library Pictures
7. All My Own Stunts
8. Reckless Serenade
9. Piledriver Waltz
10. Love is a Laserquest
11. Suck It and See
12. That's Where You're Wrong